Headteacher: Miss Nicola Percy

EYFS Curriculum

Pupils in Foundation Stages 1 and 2 (Nursery and Reception) are taught in accordance with the Department for Education’s early years foundation stage guidance. Topics are chosen to reflect pupil’s interests and needs. Children in our Early Years learn through a balance of structured and playful opportunities for learning, which cover the seven areas of learning. There are three Prime areas of learning in the EYFS.  More focus is placed on the prime areas in a child’s early life as these run through and support learning in all other areas.  

Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

  •  Making relationships
  •  Self-confidence and self-awareness
  •  Managing feelings and self-awareness

Communication and language (CL)

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding language
  • Speaking

Physical development (PD)

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

  There are a further four specific areas of learning:

Literacy (L) Reading Writing   Mathematics (M) Numbers Shape and space  
Understanding the world (UW) People and communities The world Technology   Expressive arts and design Exploring and using media and materials Being imaginative  

The Early Years curriculum at The New North Academy provides children with a strong basis on which to continue their learning journey as they move throughout the school. In fact, many aspects of Early Years practice contribute to the principles of learning across our school. At NNA we give particular focus to the teaching of phonics right from the time children start with us. This provides children with the necessary tools to enable them to be enthusiastic readers and writers, and again reflects our core aim of ensuring high quality outcomes for all.